Words of Oomph from ‘Inside Out’ by Maria V. Snyder


Written by Imran Siddiq – Flickimp

About Inside Out… Keep your head down. Don’t get noticed. Or else. I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I’ve got one friend, do my job and try to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels? Not like it’s all that dangerous – the only neck at risk is my own. Until I accidentally start a rebellion and become the go-to girl to lead a revolution…

Maria V. Snyder is an extremely talented author, who had captured my imagination with her novel ‘Inside Out’. Based on a spaceship with separate areas for uppers and lowers, I hope to gain an understanding of how she managed to explain a diverse world (within a ship), that I hope to achieve with my second novel Disconnect. Yes – I am currently reading this one.

Below are some words I found in the first two chapters that really struck me with some oomph and made the sci-fi element feel all the more great.

Okay… let me be clear… some words, below, you will think ‘so what’, but… they worked for me…

  • Vibration
  • Semi-darkness
  • Arching
  • Emanating
  • Sleek
  • Dove headfirst
  • Filtering
  • Ductwork
  • Jostled
  • Encompassed
  • Hydrophonics
  • Resided
  • Perpetually
  • Formfitting
  • Slippery
  • Tuned
  • Contemplated
  • Facility
  • Fiercest frown
  • Deep, resonant voice
  • Curiosity
  • Swinging
  • Pulsed
  • Flooded
  • Shoulders sagged
  • Scurried
Agreed… simple… everyday words… but they stood out for me as ‘oomph’ moments.
And the best I have saved for last. Sometimes, impact sentences are required to drive home a direct message or some clinical action. This paragraph did exactly that… and at this point, I was only 350 words into the novel.
Extract from Inside Out = The scrubs shoved. They frowned. They complained. I hated every one of them. Except Cog. No one hated Cog. He listened. Empathized with tales of misery. Made people smile.
A fantastic author who has inspired me more.
