Crime Thriller Girl looks forward to 2013


English: Moleskine notebook. Беларуская: Натат...

English: Moleskine notebook. Беларуская: Нататнік Moleskine. Polski: Notatnik Moleskine. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you still write?

Absolutely! Every day.

Whether it’s a blog post, a new scene, a character outline or some editing, I make sure I spend time each day to write. Usually that time is first thing in the morning before I go to work. It’s easier this time of year because when I look out the window it’s dark and so it’s harder to be distracted.

 

What are your plans for 2013?

Well, firstly keeping up to date on new crime fiction releases and reviewing them on www.crimethrillergirl.com is a priority. In 2012 I read some fabulous authors for the first time – and I’m looking forward to reading the new books from my favourite authors and also discovering some exciting new authors to add to my ‘must read’ pile in 2013.

With my own novel writing, I’m aiming to finish editing my current work-in-progress, and make a start on another novel. I’ve got a few ideas I’m mulling over. Just need to pick one now!

And, obviously, because it’s a new year I need a new notebook (I’m rather a notebook junkie!). This year I’ve gone for a black A5 Moleskine – it’s already a third full of notes!

 

What writing events are you attending in 2013?

I haven’t worked out my full schedule yet, but I’m definitely attending Get Writing 2013 in April, CRIMEFEST in May, and Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival in July.

I love attending writerly events. As well as picking up some great hints and tips for my own writing, I get to discover more books and more authors to read. Plus it’s always fun to meet other fans of the crime thriller genre, and find out from them who their favourites and recommendations are.

 

What will you do differently in 2013?

It’s not really ‘different’, but in 2013 I’ll be concentrating on reading (and reviewing) crime thriller books, and working on my own writing and editing – it’s going to be a lot of fun.

 

